Is there a way to draw "desks" (2 boxes side by side and 2 below them) without using arrows on graphviz?

Hi there, this is my first time on this forum!

i need to draw “desks” (my supervisor asked me to draw our office for my very first project, which is the infrastructure of the company) it contains 4 desks in total (i need to draw without the arrows for .py later!). I’m still new to graphviz and tried so many things but nothing worked out sadly.

thanks for reading this far, i hope someone can help me here :slight_smile:

Graphviz is not well suited for tasks like this. In general I would suggest pikchr (Pikchr: Documentation) or some interactive layout program.
That said:

graph D{
  graph [nodesep=.9  ranksep=.8] // tune these to rearrange nodes
  node [shape=rect fixedsize=true width=1.4 height=.5 label=""]
  edge [style=invis] // edges used, but are invisible

{rank=same 
    d1a [group=a]  // group attributes may not be needed, but should not hurt
    d1b [group=b]
  }
  {rank=same 
    d2a [group=a]
    d2b [group=b]
  }
  d1a -- d2a
  d1b -- d2b
}

Giving:

fourRects

1 Like

I think we need more information about what you’re trying to accomplish. I don’t know what it means to draw 4 desks.

Fwiw when our office organises desk moves… we draw the floorplan in google sheets, using it basically as graph paper.

1 Like

Hi there!

I tried to draw it on my phone (thats what i was trying to draw, just 4 boxes with no arrows)

Thank you so much!

There is also an easier way using the osage layout engine, you can play with the packmode to align the desks differently, the packmode can be set at subgraph level as well to mix layouts:
graph {
layout=“osage”;
packmode=array_ut2;
node [shape=rect];

desk1;
desk2;
desk3;
desk4;
}
giving
[dot]
graph {
layout=“osage”;
packmode=array_ut2;
node [shape=rect];

desk1;
desk2;
desk3;
desk4;
}
[/dot]
graph {
layout=“osage”;
packmode=array_ut1;
node [shape=rect];

desk1;
desk2;
desk3;
desk4;
}
giving
[dot]
graph {
layout=“osage”;