No option to install

Hi there, i’m new to graphviz but i’ve been using it within my symfony application to create graphs.

Me and my coworker have a mindmap and our boss wants this to be converted to a png or jpeg or whatever as long as it’s a downloadable image.

We wanted to use GraphViz because, let’s be real, it’s the only quality graph visualizer that connects to our project easily. Though the big issue here is that we got it to work, finished the functions to make it work within the application. Than we tried to install it on the server only to find out we do not have permissions or even availability to install on a cloud based linux server.

This felt like a true bummer and we put the idea on hold for about a month now. Though now we need to get back to it.
After the fail we tried looking for other options since we found that imageMagick was pre-installed and i kid you not, we were finding packages for graph visualizers that actually used magick when we didnt need them but now we can’t find them anywhere anymore.

So now for our big question. Is there a possibility for us to install graphviz within a localized symfony application and than just push it to the server? Or any other option where we can just grab all the source and add it to the server via FTP and than making it work somehow?

I really hope so because our boss wants it done.

Sure. Copy the source to the server and run ‘make’, it will output a binary. Look at the graphviz build instructions.

Or compile it with “static linking” (google the exact flags to pass to ./configure) and that will output a single executable, you can then copy that to the server.

Or if you can change the base image of the machine maybe you can add graphviz to that base image