"no hard-coded metrics" issue appearing for me on Ubuntu

Hi all, newbie here. I’ve just built Graphviz 8.0.3 from source on Ubuntu 22.04.1 LTS in a Docker image. There were some warnings but it built fine. However when I run one of our test cases I’m getting this error (it says it’s a warning but it’s really an error from what I can tell):

Warning: no hard-coded metrics for 'arial bold'. Falling back to 'Times' metrics

I found an existing issue that matches my problem spurious "no hard-coded metrics" warnings on labels with empty lines (#2179) · Issues · graphviz / graphviz · GitLab and I can confirm that the test case described there is also breaking for me. However the issue is closed and marked fixed (since release 3.0.0 if I am reading the commits correctly).

% cat foo.dot
digraph "" {
  0 -> 1 [fontname="Lato",label=<<br/>1>]
}
% dot -Tsvg foo.dot >/dev/null
Warning: no hard-coded metrics for 'Lato'.  Falling back to 'Times' metrics

This is my first time running Graphviz on Linux. We do have been running Graphviz for years on Windows and haven’t seen that issue there, confirmed on versions 2.38 and 6.0.1

My question is: seeing as this issue isn’t appearing on Windows and also seeing that the issue is closed, could the problem be something I’m not doing correctly in my Linux build? It would be great if anyone else here could confirm the existence of the issue. Also any pointers to a solution would be wonderful!

many thanks

I also note that adding -q to suppress warning doesn’t have any effect here.

I assume you are Brian, the same person from this thread, spurious "no hard-coded metrics" warnings on labels with empty lines (#2179) · Issues · graphviz / graphviz · GitLab.