Linter for the DOT language

Hello, I’m a newbie using Graphviz mostly because of FreeCAD’s dependency graph, I’d like to know if there is a good linter for the DOT language (to polish the code generated by FC). I’ve only found redot-lint, but it looks unfinished, unmaintained and tied to the redot editor; do you know of any alternative?
Thanks in advance

I’m not aware of anything existing, but this is an interesting topic to me. The fact that Graphviz silently accepts unknown attributes is a bit of a footgun (e.g. you typo packk=true and wonder why your pack setting didn’t take effect). What specific problems are you looking to catch?

1 Like

As of now, the first problem is readability, the generated code has no indentation etc., while generally it works, even if in complex drawings it can be somewhat clunky

Oh so you really want a reformatter, not a linter? For this I usually use clang-format. Though it’s meant for C/C++, it does a surprisingly good job on Graphviz files.

I don’t know, isn’t a linter also about “cosmetic” issues?

Didn’t expect this, I’ll try. Is there any other reformatter specifically for DOT?

I suppose so, but a linter that tells you about e.g. overly long lines doesn’t seem particularly valuable. E.g. I don’t pay any attention to these kind of warnings in Python with Pylint. I just run Black.

Not that I’m aware of though it’s certainly been discussed before either on the forum or in a Gitlab issue. Search is failing me…

1 Like

dot -Tcanon myfile.gv (DOT | Graphviz) is a reformatter/prettyprinter, though there are no tuning capabilities - the format is what it is.

I have a gvpr program (insert eyeroll here) (inside joke) that identifies “useless” attributes (like rankdir applied to a subgraph), but that is all. It does not check the actual attribute values, nor does it flag engine-specific attributes (like len), let alone check for “reasonableness”.

1 Like

Thank you