Graphviz Design/Architecture

Do we have a design/architecture guide for graphviz? Assuming I would want to fix issues that I identified, how would I know where to look for the functionality to identify the right “package”? How would I learn about key concepts for each package?

1 Like

There’s a few markdown files in the git repository, and some directories have files with large comments at the top of them. I’m not aware of anything more overarching than that, sorry. The usual way I try to fix bugs is to file them in the gitlab issue tracker, then read the code until I figure out what’s going on, possibly asking for help on the issue tracker about unclear bits.

Mark is right. Maybe we can help with a specific example?

I was thinking of a high level explanation. I am a newbie to Graphviz: how do I start? What are the plugins used for (I have a vague idea from the graphviz as library document), what are packages used and what are the packages used for? (like the GTS package mentioned in another thread: --enable-static doesn't work (#1912) · Issues · graphviz / graphviz · GitLab). I think a component level description describing the overall high level architecture would be really good.

A practical example:
If I would want to fix an error like: [Dot] Edge arrowhead and arrowtail inverted if splines=ortho is set. (#144) · Issues · graphviz / graphviz · GitLab
How would I start? Which component to look for? What components have a role in this?

Another practical example: How does Graphviz handle fonts? textfont_freef in textspan.c creates error (#1914) · Issues · graphviz / graphviz · GitLab

This is very incomplete, but here are some things that surprised me when ramping up on the Graphviz code base: