Fun with edges!

Did you know that it takes all the Graphviz engines at least 4 points to define an edge, even a straight edge? (splineType | Graphviz)
Not being a mathematician, I don’t know much (anything) about cubic B-spline, so I decided to let Graphviz show me how these splines are defined. I wrote a small GVPR program (what else) to add a point-shaped node on top of every point included in an edge pos for any graph.
What did I learn?

• After staring at hundreds of augmented graphs, splines start to make some sense
  • A straight line spline is 4 (or more) points, that all fall on a straight line (algebraically) (poor definition)
  • circo & twopi use very different routines to define their edges (see below)
  • with some care, you can tweak the points that define an edge

The program:

//
//  show the points that define an edge (all edges are splines)
//
BEGIN{
  int i, cnt, c=0, maxc, pointNum=0;
  string st, Color="", colors[int], tok[int];
  graph_t Root;

string nextColor(){
    string C;
    C="#" + colors[c++];
    if (c==maxc)c=0;
    return(C);
  }

void addPt(string Pos){
    string pname, nameStr="__splinePt__";
    node_t pn;

pname=nameStr + (string)pointNum;
    pointNum++;
    pn=node(Root,pname);
    pn.pos=Pos;
    pn.shape="point";
    pn.color="red";  // if you want all points to be red
    pn.color=Color;  // multi-colored
    pn.width=.05;
    pn.label="";
  }
}
BEG_G{
  Root=$G;
  maxc=split("CC0000 CC6600 CC0066 00BB66 00BB00 000099 770000 007700 000077",colors);
}
E{
    Color=nextColor();
    cnt=tokens($.pos, tok);
    for (i=0;i<cnt;i++){
      st=gsub(tok[i],"[	 ]"); // remove tabs and spaces !!
      if (st=="[es]*"){  
	  st=substr(st,2);
      }
      addPt(st);
    }
}

Command line (Linux):
dot/circo/neato/twopi -Tdot myfile.gv | gvpr -cf showSplinePoints.gvpr | neato -n2 -Tpng >myfile.png
Some examples:
d
edgeFlip0
b786
multiLoop1

twopi did this! (graph below)
clusterPlacement2

2 Likes