Automated code diagrams of the graphviz codebase (and some browser engines) in searchfox

Hi, I’m a developer at Mozilla and just wanted to show off the latest experimental iteration of some automated diagramming functionality I’ve been working on for our source code indexing tool, searchfox which is entirely built on the amazing, stupendous, I couldn’t live without it, graphviz. I’ve added a graphviz tree (updates daily) to searchfox. Note that because the diagramming functionality is experimental and not yet accessible to screen-readers, it’s not surfaced in the UI by default; direct links to diagrams work, but to have context menus show diagramming options, it’s necessary to go to the searchfox [settings page] and set the “Default feature gate” or “Diagramming feature gate” to alpha.

The above is a screenshot of the live query calls-to:‘emit_html_txt’ depth:12 using the default namespace hierarchy.

This is a variation of the above query with hier:file used to specify that the paths of the files containing the relevant definitions should be used for hierarchy instead, becoming calls-to:‘emit_html_txt’ depth:12 hier:file.

Beyond calls-to, it’s also possible to find control flow paths between functions, like calls-between:‘agcontains’ calls-between:‘dot_layout’ depth:12 hier:file. It’s also possible to output the raw dot file that’s generated by specifying graph-format:raw-dot.